Jump to navigation

2017 Bruce Buchholzer Scholarship Recipients Recognized

The Summit County Sports Hall of Fame is proud to announce that Grace Boss (Manchester), Emily DiDonato (Green), Nicholas Marusiak (Cuyahoga Falls), Matthew Dies (Firestone) and Camille Henderson (Buchtel) have been chosen as the 2017 recipients of the Bruce Buchholzer Scholarship. These student-athletes were honored and presented their $1,000 scholarship on June 20, 2017 at the Summit County Sports Hall of Fame Scholarship Luncheon at Firestone Country Club.

To qualify for this scholarship the recipient must be a high school senior student-athlete, of either gender, living in Summit County, have earned a varsity letter in an OHSAA recognized sport, have an overall 3.0 GPA or higher for four years of high school study, and be enrolled to attend college this upcoming fall. The Scholarship Committee evaluated the student-athlete's athletic participation, as well as their academic accomplishments and community service. To read more about the scholarship click here.

As the Summit County Sports Hall of Fame is the enshrinement of great, past athletes, the Bruce Buchholzer Scholarship is the organization’s investment in the future of Summit County athletics.