Jump to navigation

Hall of Fame Elects Seven New Members; Group Celebrates its 60th Anniversary in 2016

The Summit County Sports Hall of Fame has elected seven new members for its Class of 2016 as it marks its 60th anniversary this year. For the first time since the 1960's the organization will have a banquet speaker.

James P. Tressel, President of Youngstown State University, will be the featured speaker at the induction ceremony banquet on October 11th at the Tangier Restaurant in Akron.

The seven entering the Hall are Dick Barger, bowling; Dru Joyce II, coaching; Charles "Charlie" Marquess, football; Tracee McCoy, softball; Bart Pignatelli, football; Beanie Wells, football; and Richard Sayre, track (posthumously).

The Phil Dietrich Senior Achievement Award will go to Eugene Smith (posthumously), and the Andy Palich Service Award will be presented to Jack Miller.

Barger was the 1975 Ohio state singles champion and racked up 13 sanctioned 300 games and three 800 series.

Joyce II just completed his 15th year in coaching basketball at St. Vincent-St. Mary's and has won two state championships while the 2003 squad was named USA Today national champions.

Marquess won six letters from the University of Akron in football and baseball and captained the 1967 football team.

McCoy, a four-year letter winner in softball, earned All-MAC honors in both her junior and senior year before going on to play three years with the Akron Racers.

Pignatelli won four varsity football letters at Miami of Ohio and was a member of two championship teams. He was selected to play in the 1956 Blue-Gray game.

Wells played three years at Ohio State and was named to the All-Big Ten squad in 2007. He was a first round draft pick of the Arizona Cardinals in 2009.

Sayre was a two-time All-American as a marathon runner and was one of only four men to qualify five times for the Olympic marathon trials. He passed away in 2011.