Jump to navigation

Hall of Fame Elects Nine New Members

The Summit County Sports Hall of Fame has elected nine new members for its Class of 2015. They are Dave Antognoli, Kathleen Jordan Hohl, Thomas Lewis, Ronald Reed, John Tillman, Rob Wakeling and Cheryl Bowles. The Phil Dietrich Senior Achievement Award will go to Keith Williams. Conrad Ott, who passed away in 2010, will be honored with The Andy Palich Memorial Service Award. Induction ceremonies will be held on October 6th at Guy’s Party Center in Akron.

Antognoli earned four letters in both track and cross country at Edinboro University from 1969- 1973. He became Edinboro’s first All-American and National Individual Champion. He won the 1971 NAIA cross country championship and 10,000 meter race in track in the same year. He was an All-American three years in both track and cross country.

Bowles became The University of Akron’s first ever women’s basketball player to be named first team All-Conference in the 1999-2000 season. She is the school’s all-time leading scorer, racking up 1,712 points in 115 games.

Jordan Hohl won four varsity letters in softball for The University of Akron from 1986-89. She holds the record for most doubles in a game and season. In 2004, she was inducted into the Zips Hall of Fame and in 1996 she was a Mid- American Conference 50th Anniversary Honoree.

Lewis was named a first team All-Big Ten and 2nd team All-American receiver at Indiana in 1993. He also was a punt and kick-off return man on the Hoosiers football team. A 1994 first round NFL draft pick by the New York Giants, Lewis played in New York until 1997.

Reed was one of the top sports officials in the state, earning the Ohio High School Athletic Association Official of the Year Award in 2002. In his 45 years, he has umpired over 1,200 high school baseball games and 500 college games. He has worked the Ohio high school state baseball finals 21 times.

Tillman lettered in both cross country and track at Ohio University as a freshman and sophomore in his specialty the 880 yard run. In 1966 he was named an NCAA All-American in track and cross country.

Wakeling was the Mid-American Conference golf champion in 1992 and 1993. Since graduating from Kent State, he has captured the Summit County Amateur Championship three times (1992, 1993 and 2002) and the Ohio Public Links Championship in 1992.

Ott was Superintendent of Akron Public Schools for 25 years (1966-1991), and had a keen interest in the schools' athletic programs. He was instrumental in developing many of the sports programs throughout his long career.

Williams has won over 150 Gold, Silver and Bronze medals in senior competition at the local and state level in track and field, swimming, softball and basketball. He has been on four National All-Star teams.

Individual tickets to the October 6th induction ceremony are available for $45 and corporate sponsorships for $500, which includes a table of eight (8) and a full-page ad in the event program. To reserve tickets for the event, please contact Wayne Chapman at 234-352-1095 ext.200 or chapy52@yahoo.com by September 26th 2015.