Jump to navigation

SCSHOF Inductee Boards Updated

Working with the University of Akron, the Summit County Sports Hall of Fame Committee completed and updated the postings on its display boards at the James A. Rhodes Arena (JAR). The boards list the 607 Hall of Fame members, 83 recipients of the organization’s Andy Palich Memorial Service Award and 26 Phil Dietrich Senior Athlete Award winners.

“This is a project long overdue,” said Rudy DiDonato, chair of the committee handling the program.“ It couldn’t have happened without the cooperation of the University, and we are very appreciative,” he added.

Two sponsors stepped forward to underwrite the project. Mr. & Mrs. Ken MacDonald sponsored the 8' X 20' Hall of Fame board and Dan Hayes sponsored the Phil Dietrich Senior Award board.

DiDonato pointed out that not only did the project complete the update, but there is room for at least 12 years of future postings.

Organized in 1957, the Summit County Sports Hall of Fame recognizes residents who have demonstrated outstanding athletic achievement in their post-high school years. The athletes are honored at the organization's annual fall banquet.